Tuesday, August 6, 2013

whiiiiiiiiiiiiine

I've raised a whiner. I'm not sure at what point this happened. Somewhere between "isn't my baby so good..he eats all his vegetables and never throws a tantrum" to "oh my god, is he freaking serious right now with the crocodile tears and high pitched squeal" a whiner was born. A typical day goes something like this....want another video? whine for it! Dont like breakfast? whine and cry to get out of it! Don't want to go to school? Run to your room, slam the door and refuse to get dressed...all while whining. In between the whines he may throw out "you're not my mom" or "I dont like you" or my all time personal favorite, "the mailman hates me" (only after whining and crying upon discovering that there is no mail for him). The funny thing is, we lay down all kinds of boundaries for this child. We don't appease him at every turn and its a cold day in hell when we just give into the whining...although it has happened once or twice. He's like a prepubescent girl and having lived through that phase myself, I can say with some certainty...it sucks. I wonder if there is some sort of rebate offered by the hospital, where I can turn him in and then pick him back up after this phase has passed. Like a pawnshop...Im leaving something of value (my child) and I'll pick him up when I can deal. I'm seriously exhausted and  am not sure how much more I can take. I was told that the beauty of having only boys, was that I didnt have to deal with all the hormones and emotional outbursts. So much for that theory. I guess my only options...barring the pawnshop trade wont work...are investing in earplugs, drinking, or teaching his brother sign language in the hopes that he will think im hearing impaired and save the whining for his daddy.

No comments:

Post a Comment